Error when trying to use menus for the first time

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
zinner
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:39 pm

Error when trying to use menus for the first time

Post by zinner »

I am new to Milonic menus but not to HTML, javascript, coding, etc.
I copied an existing menu (set up by someone else and currently in use) but when I try to use it I get the error: "o$ is not defined" in milonic_src.js.

This is the code at the top of my page:

Code: Select all

<html>

<head>
  <title>just testingtitle>
  <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
  <link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='IE.css'>
 
  <SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="menu/milonic_src.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
  <script	language=JavaScript>
	if(ns4)_d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=menu/mmenuns4.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");
	  else _d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=menu/mmenudom.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");
  </script>
  <SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="menu/menu_data.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
 
</head>
Any ideas what could be causing this? Thanks in advance for any help.
da zinner
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

We need more than that snip. Got a URL we can see?
John
zinner
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:39 pm

Post by zinner »

Unfortunately, I do not have a URL yet.

Since the error is in milonic_src.js I was hoping someone (Milonic tech support?) would know what the variable o$ is supposed to get set to and what could cause that assignment not to happen.
da zinner
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Could be a million things - script bug (but I haven't seen this one before), bad download, bad/improper upload to server, page layout error, CSS conflict, typo, etc., etc.

Speaking of typos, you have...
<title>just testingtitle>
You're missing a </ before the closing title. Not being picky, just pointing out it's easy to do, we all do it, and there could be others.

If you can get a full test page up it would really help.
John
zinner
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:39 pm

Post by zinner »

THANK YOU!

I just downloaded the menu support files again and now it is working!

Sorry about the typo - I was trying to anonymize my sample code and didn't do a very careful job.

I truly appreciate your help!
da zinner
Post Reply