Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
Melinda Kochenderfer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:09 pm

Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Melinda Kochenderfer »

Dear Milonic helpful folks,
I implemented a new design of our web site, http://www.bmb.msu.edu yesterday and am finding that when viewed with Firefox 3, the menus appear behind the videoplayer(Flash) image. Can you help?

Here are my current settings in the menu_data.js file:
fixMozillaZIndex=true; //Fixes Z-Index problem with Mozilla browsers but causes odd scrolling problem, toggle to see if it helps
_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;
buildAfterLoad=true;




with(menuStyle=new mm_style()){
bordercolor="#ffffff";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=0;
fontfamily="Verdana, Arial";
fontsize="12px";
fontweight="bold"
fontstyle="normal";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
headercolor="#ffffff";
offbgcolor="#000000";
offcolor="#ffffff";
onbgcolor="#000000";
oncolor="#ffcc00";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=90);Shadow(color=#777777', Direction=135, Strength=3)";
padding=8;
pagebgcolor="#000000";
pagecolor="#ffffff";
separatorcolor="#000000";
separatorpadding=2;
separatorsize=1;
subimage="";
subimagepadding=1;
}
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

You're down a lot of versions. You need to download the newest version and try that. Make sure you put your existing program files someplace so you can go back to them if something gets messed up. Once you download the new version the only files you replace are milonic_src.js, mmenudom.js mmenuns4.js. Try that and see if the problem is fixed.

Ruth
Melinda Kochenderfer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:09 pm

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Melinda Kochenderfer »

Thank you for the help, Ruth! I'll try that out at work tomorrow and see if it works.
--Melinda
Melinda Kochenderfer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:09 pm

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Melinda Kochenderfer »

Hi Ruth,
If you could help me some more, I'd appreciate it.
I tried updating to the new version and it didn't seem to help. (See: http://www.bmb.msu.edu/index-new.html -- Just left your menu and you can see the longest one is behind the flash videoplayer.)
Any other suggestions would be most welcome!

It really seems to be the positioning of the videoplayer. Is there a way for me to move that to the "top layer" so to speak, with CSS?

Thank you!
--Melinda
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Where is this file that is noted as being required? It doesn't download when I go to your site and there seems to be no url for that file anyplace on the page

AC_RunActiveContent.js

I need all the page to work on this. And without that I just keep getting an error message.

Ruth
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Forget the above, I found one. Here is a link to your page up here at Milonic. It is using the pre-release version of 5.803. Version 5.802 also works. http://support.milonic.com/test/melinda/flash9.htm

Since the menu drops over the flash I don't know what's wrong on your site. Also, I can't test in FF since the layout is really weird and the player box is at the bottom and the footer at the top right. Also, your site works fine when I go in IE6

Ruth
twisted6
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:53 pm
Location: Canada, eh?

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by twisted6 »

For me, viewing http://support.milonic.com/test/melinda/flash9.htm in both FF2 and FF3 has the menu displaying under the Flash.

I have the same problem, but will start a new thread on my stuff after I do a little more digging. However, here's what I found so far.

All tests use the fixMozillaZIndex=true; statement...

v5.795 and FF2, menu displays over Flash.
v5.795 and FF3, menu displays under Flash.
v5.802 and FF3, menu displays under Flash.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Ruth »

Hi,



I can't test in any FF I have. This is what I see so there's no player at the top for the menu to drop over or under.

Image

Ruth
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by Andy »

Hi,

Please ensure that you have both these parameters set in your HTML for the flash object

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">

and add the following parameter to the EMBED tag:

wmode="transparent"

Should then see the menu on top of Flash in Firefox 3

HTH,
Andy
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Menu behind videoplayer in Firefox 3 - Help!

Post by John »

Looking at your page in FF3.0.3 I see the menu on top of the Flash object. I assume Andy's suggestion worked?
John
Post Reply