Fade in/Fade out

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
kirkkennedy
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 9:41 pm

Fade in/Fade out

Post by kirkkennedy »

This may seem obvious, but since I'm jumping in on version 4 with very little expertise in earlier versions, I'll ask. :roll:

All the demos I've seen for version 4 use a fade-in and fade-out display. For the site I am working on, I would prefer a faster, instant display. How do I do it?

Also, I'm having a problem and I'm not sure it's with the menu, but thought I'd see if anyone else has seen it. Using IE6 on a variety of machines, I get an occasional "Page load Error". About 75% of the time, no error, but other 25% - errors and won't load the page. You can check this test page: http://www.captaininnovations.com/millt ... browse.php. Just doing a refresh a handful of times should error (at least does with me!)

Thanks in advance!
Kirk
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Doing 8-10 quick reloads brought no errors at all. That's a little surprising to me because it appears you have a mix of v3 and v4 menu items in your code. I realize you have a lot of commented items (//), but it's really tough to read. The current version is b08, available from http://milonic.com/4beta/menu.htm.

You have added some of your own functions to the array. Any particular reason?

Calls to the menu should look something like this...

Code: Select all

<script language="Javascript" src="milonic_src.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script language="Javascript" src="xp_data.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
...and are typically in the <body>, not the <head>. It's much cleaner using a call rather than sticking all that code directly on the page.

As Andy has noted in his code...

Code: Select all

   high3dcolor = null; // Not sure if this will be included in final release
    low3dcolor = null; // Not sure if this will be included in final release
...but you have called these items anyway.

Your menu items are missing a ; . You have...

Code: Select all

aI("itemwidth=200;text=Ericsson;showmenu=5");
It should be...

Code: Select all

aI("itemwidth=200;text=Ericsson;showmenu=5;");
Note the extra ; after the 5 and before the closing ".

Without trying to sound like a snot, clean up your code. Compare it carefully to Andy's examples, then we'll be happy to go from there.
John
kirkkennedy
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 9:41 pm

Post by kirkkennedy »

John,

Thank you for your reply.

First, an explanation (though not an excuse!): This page is created on the fly. It is a php page with the menu created from a mysql database (thus the "extra functions"), and the way I'm integrating the menu into my project leads to a "less structured" end result. Nonetheless, I have formatted the php output to make the final html and javascript cleaner and easier to read.

The changes you suggested have lead to the apparent elimination of the page loading error, at least I haven't seen it in my testing. Thanks.

I still can't find out how to turn off the fading. In version 3, it was handled in a 1-line declaration, but I don't know where to look in ver4. Other than the examples, is there any other ver4 documentation?

Thanks again, and feel free to slap me around for poor code any time.

Kirk
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

There was a slight problem with dynamic built pages in IE that was fixed in a recent release.

Try the latest beta release.

Also, the ability to remove fade in/fade out should appear in the next release, or at least it will be a toggable option in the final release

Cheers
Andy
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Yeah..

Post by alexdresko »

Would be nice to be able to turn off the fade in/out.. I'm working with a pretty huge menu structure and it takes a pretty long time to get deep into the menu due to the wait time..
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Errrr..

Post by alexdresko »

I don't want to sound like I'm complaining at all, but do you there there's a chance you could add this feature by Monday of next week? I've got an important meeting that day and I would like for the menu to display properly if at all possible.
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

I should think we can do that :)

We've just spent the last 2 weeks or so redoing the core for Netscape 4.0 so that it will embed inside a table. Things are finally going very well so we are now back to finishing touches again.

I'll see if I can get this done by tomorrow, the bottom line is I can send you a custom build of mmenudom.js if things don't go to plan. It's only a matter of removing a few functions

Cheers
Andy
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

I'd just like to say, Andy, you're one of the nicest guys I know. Well not that I know you all that well, but you've been so forethcoming with assistance and information its just been great. You're very personable, helpful, and polite regarding everything and seeing from your last post to this thread, you're willing to go that extra mile for people on the other side of the world.
You've got people breathing down your neck about this menu and still you maintain a very professional stance on things. This menu you provide is outstanding and its no wonder people are foaming at the mouth waiting for the next version of the menu.
Just felt once and a while its good to let you know you're doing a great job. More business owners should be like you. I know there are quite a few people out there that wouldn't mind working for a person such as yourself.
Keep up the good work, the great attitude towards things, and don't change!
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Here here!

Post by alexdresko »

I second that notion!
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Post by alexdresko »

Hey Andy.. Don't suppose you got to that feature yet, did you? I forgot I have that meeting today (DOH!).. If possible, email the fix to adresko*3pointoh.com (Obviously replace * with @.. I wonder if that is spam proof?)
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

You're timing is great, I've just posted it up :D

http://milonic.com/4beta/menu.htm

I'm quite convinced that version 4 beta 1.10 is probably the last beta we will release. There are still one or 2 very minor issues that we will iron out over the next few days but apart from that we are there.

Oh yeah, and thanks very much for your kind words and support. It really means a lot to know that we are appreciated. It makes all these long hours of hard (and I mean hard) work seem worthwhile.

It's great to hear that you like what we do and appreciate it, you wouldn't believe the number of people out there that are quite offensive even when they are getting something for nothing :roll:


Cheers
Andy
Post Reply